Asian Women of Achievement Awards


4th June, 2014
London Hilton on Park Lane

2013 Winners

AWA in Arts & Culture
Winners: Shalini Bhalla, creative director and founder, Just Jhoom! and Lolita Chakrabarti, actress & writer
Parvinder Kaur, manager and founder, Eternal Taal
Nileeka Gunawardene, artistic director, Bollywood Dance London
Divya Mathur, senior programme officer, High Commission of India
Sukki Singapora, burlesque artist, The Singapore Burlesque Club

AWA in Business 
Winner: Grace Wang, managing director, J.P. Morgan
Yonca Brunini, VP marketing, Google
Viney Jung, Solicitor, notary public and tribunal judge, Jung & Co Solicitors
Sue Kukadia, director - global immigration, Ernst & Young
Shahin Virani, group COO, Bonhams 1793 

AWA – Entrepreneur
Winner: Sipra Deb, director, The Play Arena 
Shaheen Bhatia, pharmacist owner, P&S Chemist
Jaya Chakrabarti, CEO, Nameless Media Group 
Helen Dhaliwal, director, Red Hot World Buffet
Shalini Khemka, chief executive and board director, E2Exchange
Lisa Tse, founder, Sweet Mandarin Sauces

AWA in the Media
Winners: Ravinder Bhogal, broadcaster & writer & Kalpna Woolf, head of production, BBC
Rahila Bano, North West & Northern Ireland Reporter, BBC Asian Network
Reeta Chakrabarti, education and social affairs correspondant, BBC
Dina Medland, independent writer/ editor/ consultant
Sandeep Sidhu, UK producer, ITV News

AWA in the Professions
Winner: Ishrat Bano, postdoctoral researcher, University of Cambridge
Farah Bhatti, consultant cardiothoracic Surgeon,NHS
Sadi Khan, head of training, Noble Khan
Usha Menon, professor of gynaecological cancer/ consultant gynaecologist, head of gynaecological cancer research centre, University College London
Payal Vasudeva, managing director, Accenture
Audrey Williams, partner, human resources group, Eversheds LLP

AWA in Public Service
Winner: Tab Ahmad, founder and managing director, EmployAbility
Dr Husna Ahmad, CEO, Faith Regen Foundation
Dr Bela Arora, academic, University of Wales Newport
Raj Bhamber, director of workforce and organisational development, Ashford and St Peter's Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Karenjit Clare, junior research fellow, Green Templeton College, University of Oxford
Zehra Zaidi, national programme lead, UpRising Leadership Programme, The Young Foundation

The Social & Humanitarian Award
Winner: Malini Mehra, founder, Centre for Social Markets
Samsunear Ali, deputy chief executive, Bawso
Puja Handa, art of living teacher, Art of Living Foundation
Polly Harrar, founder, The Sharan Project
Hani Law
Ahmereen Reza, honorary chairperson, Developments in Literacy Trust

AWA - Young Achiever
Winner: Sanju Pal, founder, RISE and management consultant, Accenture
Roma Agrawal, associate Structural Engineer, WSP Group
Megha Goel, fuel oil trader, Trafigura Pte
Angela Jhanji, sustainability consultant, Accenture
Romana Karim, management consultant, PwC
Vidhyalakshmi Karthikeyan, senior researcher, BT Group

AWA in Sport
Winner: Monica Thandi, chairperson and founder, Netball Development Trust
Aisha Ahmad, CEO, All Sports Women
Rimla Akhtar, chair, Muslim Women’s Sport Foundation
Manisha Tailor, football coach/ sports journalist

Community Award
Winner: The Home Office
Muslim Women’s Sport Foundation